14 New High Court Judges Sworn In

On July 18, 2018 In Latest News

President Uhuru Kenyatta today witnessed the swearing-in of 14 new High Court judges at State House, Nairobi. The new judges, who were appointed  last week on the advice of the Judicial Service Commission, are Justices Riechi Stephen Nyangau, Sawe Olga Akech, Winfrida Adhiambo Okwany, Otieno Patrick Okwara, Anthony Kimani Ndung’u, Mugure Thande, Margaret Njoki Mwangi and Githinji Stephen Murugu. Others are Dorah O. Chepkwony, Ongeri Asenath Nyaboke, Kiarie Waweru Kiarie, Njuguna Lucy Mwihaki, Mativo Muting’a John and Nyakundi Reuben Nyambati. The ceremony was conducted by the Chief Registrar of the Judiciary, Anne Atieno Amadi. President Kenyatta congratulated the new judges as they start their journey to dispense justice. He said Kenyans are looking forward to have a judiciary that can deal with court cases expeditiously. President Kenyatta said the Executive arm of Government is ready to support the Judiciary with what it requires, including sufficient budgetary allocations, so that it can perform its duties efficiently. He said the three arms of Government share the role of building a stronger society and have a shared responsibility to serve Kenyans diligently. “The independence of the different arms of the Government does not take away our responsibility and we must work together,” he said. Chief Justice Willy Mutunga thanked the President for his readiness to engage the Judicial Service Commission in consultations. Before the swearing-in ceremony, the President held a separate meeting with members of the JSC. The 14 judges were part of the list of 25 forwarded by the JSC last year. At the time, President Kenyatta appointed 11 of the 25 and postponed the appointment of current group pending further processes.

Latest News

President Kenyatta opens World Vision regional headquarters in Nairobi

July 19, 2018 In Latest News

NAIROBI, 19 JULY 2018, (PSCU) — President Uhuru ...

Kenya to double its shareholding in Africa50 infrastructure Fund

July 19, 2018 In Latest News

NAIROBI, 19 JULY 2018, (

President Kenyatta approves law granting 15 percent tax relief to affordable housing beneficiaries 

July 18, 2018 In Latest News

NAIROBI, 18 July 2018 (PSCU) — President Uhuru