President Kenyatta In Kigali For AU Summit

On April 17, 2019 In Latest News

President Uhuru Kenyatta has arrived in Kigali, Rwanda, to attend the 27th Ordinary Session of the Assembly of the African Union (AU) Summit. The Summit will deliberate on issues ranging from the state of peace and security in Africa to financing of the AU, United Nations reforms, integration of the continent and the establishment of the Continental Free Trade Area. The Summit is also expected to elect a new chairperson of the African Union Commission, a deputy chairperson and commissioners of the Union.Kenya’s Amb. Mahboub M. Maalim is vying for the post of Commissioner for Infrastructure and Energy. The plane carrying the President and First Lady Margaret Kenyatta touched down at Kigali International Airport shortly before noon (Kenyan time). The First Lady, who is in Kigali for the Organization of African First Ladies Against HIV/AIDS (OAFLA) meetings, will also attend the opening of the AU summit. Ahead of the AU summit, President Kenyatta will today join the African Union Committee of 10 (C-10) for a meeting on the United Nations reforms. C-10 is a group of 10 African countries, including Kenya, formed by AU to lobby for UN reforms. Other members are Algeria, Libya, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Namibia, Zambia, Uganda, Equatorial Guinea and Congo. The President will also join other continental leaders for a meeting on financing of the African Union and wrap up the first day of his official visit to Rwanda by attending an IGAD Special Summit that will focus on regional peace and security, especially the situation in South Sudan. On July 8, renewed fighting erupted in Juba, the capital Africa’s youngest nation. President Kenyatta reached out to President Salva Kiir, First Vice President Dr Riek Machar and Vice President James Wani Igga and urged them to play the leadership roles the people of South Sudan expected of them to resolve the latest crisis. A number of African Heads of State and Government arrived yesterday in Kigali for the Summit including Presidents Robert Mugabe of Zimbabwe, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf of Liberia, Hage Geingob of Namibia, Macky Sall of Senegal, Ibrahim Boubacar Keita of Mali and Allasanne Ouattara of Cote d’Ivoire. Others were Ethiopian Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalegn as well as Presidents Mahamadou Issoufou (Niger), Teodoro Obiang Nguema (Equatorial Guinea), Idriss Deby Itno (Chad), Jacob Zuma of South Africa and United Nations Secretary General Ban Ki-moon.

Cabinet warns millers against taking advantage of drought situation to hike price of Unga

April 18, 2019 In Latest News

Cabinet has asked millers not to take advantage of the ongoi

President Kenyatta calls for more private sector participation in infrastructure development

April 17, 2019 In Latest News

NAIROBI, 17 April 2019 (PSCU) – President Uhuru